BHPC Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Public: Open to anyone > Building
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Starting a new topic? Please try and put it in a relevant forum (Riding, Building, etc) but if you're not sure it's better to post in any forum than not to post at all.

Ventilation in fully enclosed HPVs

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
BHPC Member
BHPC Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote runcyclexcski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ventilation in fully enclosed HPVs
    Posted: 23 May 2017 at 10:02pm
Hi all,

I've been researching HPVs on and off for several years now, and I've been receiving the BHPC magazine for about a year now. Just renewed my membership, so figured I would look for wisdom on this forum. A search did not return any hits, apologies if this has been covered.

May I ask if there is a good source for information/research on air-conditioning in fully enclosed HPVs? I've lived in many climates, ranging from Moscow 20+ years ago to New York City, Virginia, California, and now East Midlands. It appears that state of the art HPVs (not cheap!) are comfortable to ride only in mild climates like the UK and Holland, and even there may be only a few months a year.

I am fine spinning at 200W for hours, but in an HPV one deals with the still air. Even in a AC-ed gym controlled at 20C one needs a strong fan not to be miserable in the still air. I experimented with 'exercising' in the car for a few min, and even with the AC running there is condensation, particularly when it's cold outside.