BHPC Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Public: Open to anyone > Building
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Starting a new topic? Please try and put it in a relevant forum (Riding, Building, etc) but if you're not sure it's better to post in any forum than not to post at all.

Stick bike wheelbase

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Visitor (new)
Visitor (new)

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Freedom21tim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Stick bike wheelbase
    Posted: 19 March 2020 at 8:03am
Hi all, I'm in the process of building a stick bike and am after some wheelbase length suggestions before I drill the steerer tube.

I'm totally new to this (I haven't even ridden a recumbent yet) but have done quite a bit of reading.
I was hoping to go to Hillingdon in April to get some ideas.... it sort of looks like it is more todo with
What you need fit on the frame, size of seat and steering choice. But any clues would be helpful

I should say it is being built for General riding rather than racing, but would like to be able to get it on train if it works......

Forgot to say wheel sizes 26' 20'

Thanks, Tim

Edited by Freedom21tim - 19 March 2020 at 8:12am
Woolly Hat View Drop Down
BHPC Member
BHPC Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Woolly Hat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 March 2020 at 9:05am
Hi Tim,

I also planned to build my own before I'd ridden a recumbent and everyone I spoke to told me not to. I was lucky enough to attend a race and given the opportunity to ride 2 completely different recumbents and it totally changed my view on what I thought I wanted. I'm still interested in building one but an opportunity came up to buy one and it was the best decision for me at the time. I've learnt so much from riding it about what I like and what I would change if building my own that makes many of my previous plans completely invalid.