URL: https://forum.bhpc.org.uk/forum_posts.asp?TID=6669
Printed Date: 28 March 2024 at 4:12pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.02 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Hip pain
Posted By: watchie
Subject: Hip pain
Date Posted: 08 March 2018 at 7:44pm
Hi, 

I started riding a recumbent last year and after a couple of rides of just 25 miles in one week (not something I thought was excessive) I developed hip pain in my right hip. That was in August 2017. 

After a while when it didn't sort itself out, I saw a doctor and I am now receiving physio for it, but it still hasn't gone completely.

I am not asking for medical advice simply trying to find out if it is something that other people have experienced and if they found out the cause.

I am not 100% sure it was riding the recumbent that brought on the hip pain but that was the notable exercise I did at the time.

Replies:
Posted By: RoyMacdonald
Date Posted: 09 March 2018 at 8:20pm
There could be many variables here. Was the bike set up correctly for leg length? Did it have the correct length cranks? Did you overdo unaccustomed exercise the first week? Ligament damage is a pig to heal. Did the seat suit you? 

Short cranks will correct a lot of problems. 

I have a major spinal problem and was in pain 24/7 and was told in 1993 by the consultant I would be in wheelchair within five years. I started riding a Kingcycle in 1994 and found that I was free of pain for around an hour after riding at first but that time of being pain free gradually extended and I am still able to walk without pain although my spine is 2" shorter than it was in 1993. But that's just made me more aerodynamic. 

People vary so much there is no way one person's experience can directly translate to someone else's but I doubt it's just the fact you are on a recumbent. Did the scans of the hip joint show any issues? Or is it in the soft tissue? 

Roy

Posted By: watchie
Date Posted: 10 March 2018 at 10:30am
Hi Roy,

Thanks for the info.